Learning CW

So, I decided that I want to learn CW. After  a frustrating false start, I started using Learning CW Online.
Now I may be a special case. I have read many articles where people have learned morse code at slower speeds and had major difficulty in working at higher speeds. In order to prevent this, I started listening to the code at a speed that each character made a sound, rather than a series of dits and dahs. For me that was 30 words per minute. I also wanted to have instant recall of the code that I was hearing. In order to do that I decided that I needed to drill using the “Morse Machine” on the lcwo website. It wasn’t easy, I added maybe one character per week. Which to some seems slow, but I didn’t want to add another character until I had instant recall of the newly added character. It seems to be working. I am 21 characters in to the 40 character list on the Morse Machine. I have almost instance access to the characters when listening the morse code at 15wpm. This seems to be working for me, maybe it will work for you.

About isaacdrose

Software Engineer. All around nerdy guy.

Leave a Reply

