MSP430 replacement of the FreqMite.

I love the idea of the Freqmite. It is currently being sold on 4 States QRP website for $22 a piece isn’t that bad.

But I want something a little different. Something like this.

  1. If this is the only function that the device is doing then it should only be active when I hit the spot button. Otherwise I want the MCU in deep sleep where it is drawing micro-amps. It doesn’t seem like much, but if your receiver is pulling 20-30ma, you then why pull power for a feature you aren’t using.
  2. Why not couple this with a keyer. Then you would have a built in keyer, that also tells you what the frequency is. Now how handy would that be.
  3. The keyer should have a ptt output. So I can key the transmitter, like in the Rockless Rockmite.
  4. The keyer should also have a side tone output. Maybe even configurable.
  5. Part component cost to be under $15.
  6. The code should be open sourced on GitHub so that anyone can download it or modify it to suit their needs.

I think this is going to have to be a future project.

Update
I used to have debuggers to several chip vendors and I got rid of everything but my Segger J-Link. While working on some other projects, you hear about shortly, I have decided that I will only use ARM chips from now on. So this project won’t be done using an MSP430.

About isaacdrose

Software Engineer. All around nerdy guy.

Leave a Reply

